HMS Prince of Wales (GPM, 1:200)

Andrew Austin

Hi,

I present to the forum, my next project, the HMS Prince of Wales. This is my first attempt at a 1:200 scale model.

Historical background:

The HMS Prince of Wales was laid in 1937, launched in 1939 and commissioned in 1941. The Prince of Wales' first engagement was against the Bismarck in the North Atlantic, during which the HMS Hood was sunk. It was then sent as part of Z-force, (along with the HMS Repulse) to the Pacific in late 1941, as an attempt to counter the Japanese invasion of Singapore.

The HMS Prince of Wales was sunk on December 10 1941, 334 days after commission, with the loss of at least 300 lives.

Model Information:

Publisher: GPM (Poland)
Scale: 1:200
Finished length: 115 cm (3' 9")
Pages: 6 diagrams, 16 parts (A3 size)

Photograph 4 gives an impression of the scale - that is a 30 cm (12") ruler!

Regards,

Andrew

Andrew Austin

Hi,

I present to the forum, my next project, the HMS Prince of Wales. This is my first attempt at a 1:200 scale model.

Historical background:

The HMS Prince of Wales was laid in 1937, launched in 1939 and commissioned in 1941. The Prince of Wales' first engagement was against the Bismarck in the North Atlantic, during which the HMS Hood was sunk. It was then sent as part of Z-force, (along with the HMS Repulse) to the Pacific in late 1941, as an attempt to counter the Japanese invasion of Singapore.

The HMS Prince of Wales was sunk on December 10 1941, 334 days after commission, with the loss of at least 300 lives.

Model Information:

Publisher: GPM (Poland)
Scale: 1:200
Finished length: 115 cm (3' 9")
Pages: 6 diagrams, 16 parts (A3 size)

Photograph 4 gives an impression of the scale - that is a 30 cm (12") ruler!

Regards,

Andrew

beejay

Hello Andrew,
Excellent! The keel of another RN vessel laid in this forum. I wish you all the very best of success in her build.