Hi I'm new here too. HO help please? :)

NYC Rocker

Jul 15, 2004
:wave: Hi everyone! What a great forum, holy cow, so many talented people with so many amazing railroads you've constructed!!
Okay, I have one question, and please keep in mind I'm BRAND NEW at this. :confused:
I live in NYC and don't have much room... I probably should've gone for N scale but I got HO. :rolleyes: Anyway, what is the minimum amount of space I can possibly get away with for my track? It will probably be on a board or table-top or something. I don't expect to create any big elaborate models like the rest of you, I may even have to stick to a basic circle or oval or whatever I can fit.
Any suggestions you can give me would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks so much!

Rocker

sumpter250

multiscale modelbuilder
Jan 19, 2002
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Visit site
That depends on what locomotive you have. If it will handle a 15" radius curve, the minimum will be 34" X 34"(a little table outside the curve). The most accurate answer to your question is dependant on the minimum radius curve your loco can operate on. After that.......how much space do you have? :D :D (or are willing to sacrifice :eek: :D )
Pete

F

Fred_M

Welcome to the gauge, we will help you all we can. In HO I recommend no smaller than 4 X 8 if you want a loop. There are other straight line layouts that can be very challanging such the "time saver" switching game layout which can be very small. The guys in track planning can help you out. Fred

NYC Rocker

Jul 15, 2004
Thank you both for your quick answers! Yikes :eek:ops: I don't know what the locomotive is capable of, I didn't even get it yet, it's on its way from Ebay. It's a Bachmann Union Pacific Engine. Does that give you any info? :confused: I mean I'm REEEEALLY new at this. ;)
Okay so I can do 34". But 4 by 8 feet? <-- That I can't do. I wish!!