Hi from the UK

Myristica

Hi

I am very very new to the world of papercraft; not even finished my first project yet.

Not really being sure of where to start, I selected something (that looked simple) from the 'big globe' website. It is one of the drones from the 'Silent Running' movie.

I have been a nurse for many years and so feel pretty confident with a pair of scissors and a sharp knife :)and just love the therapeutic aspect of cutting and gluing things together. Definitely looking forward to attempting some of the more challenging builds as my skills increase.

Anyways, just thought I would say a quick 'Hi!' to all.

Regards
Myristica
20160709_195358.jpg
*work in progress:eek:

Revell-Fan

Co-Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
Hello Myristica,

welcome to the forum! :)

Thank you for introducing yourself and showing us a WIP picture. Looks like you are off to a good start!

The drones are really simple and a good starting point for beginners. I'm looking forward to seeing your progress. If you have any questions don't hesitate to ask. We have many resourceful members here who surely would love to help, myself included ;) .

I work at an old people's home and I can confirm what you say about the therapeutic aspects of our hobby. In addition, papercrafting does not only give you calm and peace but also joy and happiness to the people around you. I often give away selected models to special friends and colleagues. The reactions are always overwhelming; everyone is amazed at what you can do with "just" paper. :)

Take a look around, make yourself comfortable and most importantly: Have fun and enjoy!

RF :)

zathros

*****SENIOR ADMINISTRATOR*****
Staff member
Administrator
Welcome to ZEALOT!! Many Brits here, you will find yourself in good company. That's a very popular model, and a good model to start with. Welcome to Zealot! :)

Rhaven Blaack

!!!THE MAN BEHIND THE CURTAIN!!!
Staff member
Administrator
Hello and welcome to Zealot,