Hi all!! I'm new here and a total noob.

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by cboath, Jan 12, 2007.

1. cboath

cboath New Member

I just picked up my first engine last night and some track. I am really itching to start building my scenery and stuff. I just have some questions. I went back and looked in some threads people starte about being new and where to start, but couldn't find what I needed. I don't even know what to search for with the search tool.

My questions(for now) are:

1. What is the best way to fasten the corkboard to the plywood?
    2. What is the best way to fasten the track to the corkboard?
    3. What do the numbers mean when you see # - # - #?
    4. How do you manage turns with the corkboard?

Links to previous threads would be great.

Thanks in advance.
  2. Santa Fe Jack

Santa Fe Jack Member

Hey, cboath, and welcome.
    Here are (some) answers:
    1. white glue, temporarily held in place with pins, works surprisingly well
    2. ditto
    3. I have no idea
    4. It's flexible - no worries

Also, I would not presume the use of plywood. The pink (sometimes blue) sheets of extruded foam (insulation board) that you can get at a home center works great. It comes in 4'x8' sheets in a variety of thicknesses. It's light, and it is dimensionally stable under conditions of changing humidity, which is important because so is your track.

Take the time to figure out how to use the search tool. It is your friend! :) Have fun!!
  3. MasonJar

MasonJar It's not rocket surgery

Hi cboath,

Welcome to The Gauge...!

There are a number of long running threads about starting (and continuing) a layout. Most though start with a track plan. Do you have one or want one? I am guessing that you maybe have a trainset and are looking to get an oval (or whatever) up and running?

Here are some answers to your questions: