Hi All I'm a Noob

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by Fhaetal, Jul 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Fhaetal

Fhaetal New Member

hello to all the artful hobbyist, I have never owned or flown an R/C before but last week on the 4th of july I decided to purchase a ExceedRC-50H21-Chinook heli and get in the game. I am also looking for a Winged plane to purchase and live out my daydreams and fly a fighter, I have no flight experience but I'm sharp and a quick learner. I was looking for a MiG-31 Firefox ARF or RTF, not ready to start from a scratch build, so I was wondering does anyone sale the plane?
  2. Maico Shark

Maico Shark Guest

Hi Faetal...We have a very proficient helicopter pilot in residence (you can see his videos at our "Video Vault" forum. I'm sure he will be able to give you some pointers. Looking forward to your own videos (please don't edit out the crashes:)) Welcome to Zealot.
  3. steamhead

steamhead Active Member

Welcome Fhaetal...
    Whatever you do...DON'T try to go at this alone, particularly the heli, or you'll soon end up with a twisted pile of heli parts. Look around your area and see if there are any RC'ers around that can lend a hand...

R/C can be a lot of fun...but you gotta crawl before you walk, and it'll take a while before can run...:thumb:
  4. FlareBaffled

FlareBaffled Member

Having just recently broken my helicopter duck with a fun twin rotor 'EasyCopter' I can vouch for the fun that can be had with a relatively cheap model.

I have had plenty of ground based RC experience, but never got airborne..except when the nitro buggy hit a jump...

Best bit of advice I can give is to spend some time getting hte trim and setup right before you fly. Make sure the swashplate is level and adjust things so it is. Otherwise you will spend lots of time trying to stop the thing going all over the place! Once I figured that out, my flying began to make sense.

Then I crashed.