HELP with track systems

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by ejwesty, Feb 26, 2007.

1. ejwesty

ejwesty New Member

I'm new to model railroading and need some advice regarding the pros and cons of the various N gauge track systems. Building an elevated round-the-room layout and would like to get the best track available in an attempt to minimize problems.

Would appeciate any feedback regarding your experiences.

Thanks you.

2. 60103

60103 Pooh Bah

Hi westy, and welcome.
    There are 2 divisions of ready made track: sectional and flexible.
    Sectional is the type that comes in train sets -- short pieces of track that are fairly rigid. Some of them come with roadbed attached (the gravel bit that makes it sit higher.) Most of them connect together execpt the roadbed tracks where every manufacturer has his own idea of how it should be done. Sectional has fixed geometry -- limited number of radii and limited variety of switches and the switches all are part of a circle. It also means there are lots of joints which become problems eventually.
    Flexible track come in yard-long pieces. The switches (called turnouts) are straight through the frog which is more realistic. It takes a little more effort to put down, but you can choose your own radii and shapes. You can also create problems by bending it too sharply.
    If you start with sectional track, it can be expanded using the flexible track as they're compatible.
    There is also a finer track (called Code 55 in N). This is closer to scale, but harder to find and not as sturdy.
    I know I've talked in generalities, but you should have an idea of this first.
  3. ejwesty

ejwesty New Member