Help save Christmas!

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by 66merc, Dec 26, 2006.

1. 66merc

66merc New Member

Howdy from a total newbie (I bet there are alot of us newbies today!).

I got a new-old stock K-line o-gage army train set for my son. I set up the supersnap track and transformer. I tested the train for a few laps----worked great. Then my son wrecked it while I was in another room and it is now showing short on the power pack. I took apart the track and see no shorts or foriegn objects. Rotating the speed control knob to zero (per instructions) does not reset the transformer.

I also notice that the green light on the piece of track where the wires connect shines green when no train is on the track but goes out when I mount the locomotive.

Could he have shorted out the transformer or the locomotive?

Any help appreciated.
  2. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

Hmm. What happens if you disconnect the wires from the track, flip the locomotive upside down, put one wire on the pickup roller, and the other wire on some other metal part of the train (such as the coupler or drawbar)?
  3. 66merc

66merc New Member

Well Dave,

I don't know. Will try that tomorrow and post results. Thanks much for the help.
  4. 66merc

66merc New Member

OK so curiosity got the best of me and I hooked the transformer back up tonight and tried the direct connections. Nothing. Not surprised since the transformer is still flashing the red light (short)---even when the wires are unhooked. Still seems like this is a transformer problem. Thanks.
  5. Geno

Geno Member

The toy train transformers are fairly robust pieces (with the exception of the CW-80)- they're built to take abuse from derailed trains and shorts from metal objects placed on the track. What exactly did your son do?

6. 66merc

66merc New Member

Hey Geno,