HELP! My switcher is broken.

McFortner

Sep 9, 2002
Stockbridge, GA
Visit site
I bought a switcher yesterday for the NSR and got it looking the way I wanted it too when it stopped running. When I checked it out, I found that the long spring like belt from the shaft to the wheels had broken (it is an older engine, but my son and I both like it). How can I fix/replace this spring? Or will I need to replace the entire drive/motor assembly? I had gotten it looking like an old, beaten up Alco switcher that had seen several owners before being acquired by my line, which was the look I wanted, and I would hate to have to make a dummy out of it.

Looking for help for NSR switcher 128,
Michael

McFortner

Sep 9, 2002
Stockbridge, GA
Visit site
Switcher Pictures

I got an enexpensive Vivitar digital camera from Wal-Mart today. I'm still learning how it works, but these pictures should be good enough to help. The engine is marked "The Lindberg Line" on the coupler boxes and "Lindberg" on the motor, so I am guessing that is the maker of the engine. The spring/cable winds around the front two axles and them up to the gearing inside. Any help is appreciated.

Attachments

• 128-1.jpg
    128-1.jpg
    26.9 KB · Views: 115

McFortner

Sep 9, 2002
Stockbridge, GA
Visit site
picture #3

Once again, sorry about the resolution. I am still learning this camera. I prefer my 35mm SLR and scanner, but it takes too long and too much $$$ to get the pictures developed for me to wait! :rolleyes: ;)

Attachments

• 128-3.jpg
    128-3.jpg
    21.3 KB · Views: 112

Vic

Feb 1, 2002
Columbus GA
Visit site
Hi Micheal, What you have got there is an "oldie but a goodie" a Lindberg Switcher:) Unless you are an old goat like me you probably don't remember them:D :D :D