Help Is Needed.........

Sniktag

May 8, 2007
Hey all,

i am a newbie in the mrr circle, :-D , I have a greart room for trains, it is finished perfectly, I have mastered the art of benchwork lighting even how to paint a reasonable backdrop......however I am pretty much a moron when it comes to designing a working track plan( 4 attempts in one year and still no luck)....... can anybody help????

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT
First things first. What scale? Room size, including door and window locations and any internal obstructions? What railroad era are you interested in? How large will your rolling stock be?

Sniktag

May 8, 2007
Hey there Jim,
Ok where to start, its a 9x11 room, with one 4ft window that I have closed out with a dry wall. No internal obstructions( it was a spare bedroom.) I am interested in the last glory days of steam (transition era) and first gen diesel. The biggest Loco I have at the moment is a 4-8-4 the smallest is an lod 4-4-0 that is to be an excursion train.

Does that answer the questions? I also have the Kato Super Chief Set of 12 cars.

kind Regards Gregg Atkins aka sniktAg

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT
Also, can you provide a basic sketch of the room arrangement? Where the door is located? Which way does it swing? What are your thoughts and ideas so far?

Sniktag

May 8, 2007
thanx Guys

Wow, Tak about help!! I cannot thankyou guys for the response ive had.

To answer all questions.

I am modelling N scale, The room has no door at all so around the walls with duckunder is no problem.

However the door is on the shorter wall (9') on extreme right hand side.

I will post a floor plan asap, I like the whole gammut of scenery, however I like mostly high desrt scenery, Donner pass region, and the SP coastal Route in Northern California.

I hope that answers your questions thus far.

God Bless Gregg

Russ Bellinis

Feb 13, 2003
Lakewood, Ca.
Visit site