Help, am I being scammed from ebay?

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Gil Finn, May 10, 2007.

  1. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    Using ebay in this title or subject line was misleading. Ebay is not involved as far as emails go............

    [​IMG]Posted May 10, 2007 05:42 PM I got this official looking USPS email today. I have never seen one like it so far.

    The shipper I have never heard of, He answered no emails I have sent and the line of items he has on Ebay I would never buy, not on line anyway.

    I looked him up and he does have a store and is a large dealer.

    The only thing I have gotten recently and is being shipped is train track. He sells cell phone and such.

    What do you think??

    Am I getting something for nothing or is some body using a stolen credit card and my address for a drop hoping it will come when I am not home. I saw that on 20 20 recently. The crooks steal the packages of your porch?

    This is what I got, the subject line said it was sent on behalf of Bluetoothrush. You can goolge that up and see him on ebay:

    The following package was shipped to you via the U.S. Postal Service:

    Delivery ZIP............25560
    Shipment Date...........5/10/07
    Mail Class..............Priority Mail
    Signature Required......No
    Confirmation Number.....xxxx01052129725094xxxx

    Check the package status:

    The shipment information contained in this email is provided by
    For questions about this package, please contact the sender of
    the package or the U.S. Postal Service.

    Print official USPS postage from your own printer with,
    and eliminate trips to the Post Office forever!
    Sign up at and receive our special
    introductory offer. Try it risk free today!
  2. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    For starters, I doubt that the USPS sends out notifications like this. I just received a priority package and never got advanced notice like this. Ya gotta ask yourself, how did the Postal Service get your email address?

    But let's say that it is from them, I also saw something recently where they send stuff to a drop house where it is forwarded to the person that has the stolen credit card number, or, as you say, you're not home and the package is picked up right after it's delivered to your house.

    You might want to send a copy of this back to the USPS and ask them if it is legit, a scam or possibly ID theft. Check their web site and see if they have a place you can send this to, like "consumer fraud" or something like that.
  3. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    I got one of those a couple of months ago with the same name but never received anything and to my knowledge, none of my cards have been chaged for anything out of the ordinary either. It is quite puzzling. Stamps.Com is ligit so I'm wondering if it's one of the eBay sellers using a different loggin? Perhaps they have a couple of different user names on eBay for different products but only use one shipping account. I don't know.
  4. Bones

    Bones Member

    I recently received 3 similar emails. Mine, however, were legit. I had ordered 2 Undec water tenders, and a used b-mann pacific tender.

    My emails also showed this name, but this was not the seller I had purchased from.

    All three of my emails (from 2 different vendors), included an invoice. They showed a detailed record of the transaction: seller, buyer, sale date, Item, price, tax, shipping, total, etc.
    This also doesn't really serve as a means to track your package, but more of a notification that the seller has shipped it.

    I would contact the person / store you purchased the track from to see if they ship using this method. If not, that tracking number should show you the day it is delivered. Just keep checking the link every day. Eventually it will show the address and date delivered.
  5. CRed

    CRed Member

    Looks like an attempt to put you on their mailing list and send you spam if you ask me.Either way,forward it to the fraud dept. on ebay and see what they say.No sense taking chances you know.

  6. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    Something for nothing gil. I would think not so be carefull and dont give out personal information
  7. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    I realy dont have any personal info out there. I change all pass words regularly.

    Ebay for example has my address as General delivery and the phone provided is a track phone that no one else has the number for.

    I only give my actual address to shippers at point of paymnet on line.

    I use a debit card on a special account that only holds a little more cash than I need when I buy on line, that I transfer cash form my everyday checking account to it .

    No thief could get more than a few dollars from me.

    My name is not actualy Finn and I dont list my real home town where I live in any profiles. Close but not the same. I change that too when I get a whim.

    I dont want something for nothing.

    If I cant understand it when it comes, if it comes, I will refuse it and let the sender contact me about it later.

    If I think it all a fruad I will alert the postal inspectors.
  8. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    sounds like a good plan
  9. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Hi Gil,
    This has all the earmarks of a phising expedition. I receive mails
  10. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    good point gus yep dont even respond to phising
  11. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Hi Gil,
    This has all the earmarks of a phising expedition. I receive mails like this one now and then..Was there a link posted to get additional information regarding the "purchase"? That's where they'll ask you to "sign in", getting your username & password. Then they can list items under your name and get payments under your name...and you wind up getting sr...d. If you haven't bought it, forward the mail to They'll take care of it.
  12. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Why did part of my reply post before I hit the submit button..??
  13. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    looked normal here
  14. rogerw

    rogerw Active Member

    or maybe you can predict the future. Whats the lotto numbers for this weekend.:mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen::mrgreen:
  15. steamhead

    steamhead Active Member

    Roger...If I knew...I wouldn't tell you..!! :mrgreen:
  16. ezdays

    ezdays Out AZ way

    "cause we have a gremlin here that wants to inflict great personal pain and humiliation upon you....sign1sign1

    ...So, in order to thwart his efforts and to give us time to figure out how he is doing this, we have included an "edit" button on each of your posts to enable you to finish what you were doing....:thumb::thumb:

    Oh, the winning lottery numbers? He always manages to intercept them anyway, so don't bother to post them just yet. If you have them, just PM them to me and I'll let everyone else know...:roll::roll::roll::roll:
  17. Iron Goat

    Iron Goat Member

    I got one yesterday, wanting to know when I was going to send payment for an item (that I did not order, bid on, etc.). I reported it to Ebay Security (SPOOF) but have not had a response from Ebay yet.

    Whatever you do, do not respond to these e-mails (they are just "phishing" for your information...).

  18. Gil Finn

    Gil Finn Active Member

    This said itb had been shipped and came with a tracking number. The dealer looked legit with several thousand good feed backs.

    It didnt come from ebay but from the post offe it said. I can track it with the tracking number or wait a few day to see if there realy is a shippment and take it from there.

    I did contact ebay since the guy is a power seller with a store.

    He may be innocent if this is credit card theft.

    My personal info is well hidden I hope.
  19. Iron Goat

    Iron Goat Member

    Just be careful... mine listed the Seller as a "100 % positive feed-back" Seller, with 669 transactions.

    He said I ordered the item, and have not paid for it ("he is waiting for payment") and he maintains that I ordered an Elvis Presley Napkin Holder from his auction.

    I have sent 2 different "SPOOF" reports to both Ebay and PayPal, but no response as of this time. The odd thing is that I never could stand Elvis and I certainly would not order any Elvis items.

    Good luck.... Bob
  20. Cannonball

    Cannonball More Trains Than Brains

    I've gotten the same e-mail and it's not a "phishing expidition." If that were the case, it would typically ask you to log into PayPal or eBay or some other website. This doesn't ask you in anywhere. It just says you have a package being delivered from bluetoothrush and gives a delivery confirmation number from Stamps.Com.

    Gil- I will tell you to watch your eBay account. Now that I think about it, my eBay account was compromised several times over a two week period shortly after I got that e-mail. I had to change my password 4 or 5 times before I managed to shake off whomever it was.

    It is strange because the only link it gives is for Stamps. Com and does not ask you for any personal log in info. :?

Share This Page