Help/Advice needed

Discussion in 'HO Scale Model Trains' started by scoobyandy, Oct 15, 2005.

1. scoobyandy

scoobyandy New Member

Please Help me

Hi, this is my first post and only second visit to the site, but think i will be spending a lot of time on here now, getting advice and learning all i can form you more experianced modelers. :wave:

I am just starting out, and have a VERY small budget to spend as just got my own house and got married.

So any advice that you can offer me will be very greatfully recieved.
    Rolling stock is not an issue as i have loads from when i was younger and lived with parents as had a layout in the loft convertion, but that was left in house when they moved, except for the locos and carrages etc.

So Scenery is my problem. Can anyone help me here,
    Sites to get items from cheap, how to make household items in to something usefull etc etc.

Thanks in advance
  2. Union Pacific

Union Pacific Member

hello and welcome to the-guage !!!!:thumb:
    I have only been modleong for 5 years and have found that you can pick up plaster form any arts and crafts store and soak shop papertowels (thicker than normal ones) in this mixture and drape it over *hardshell scenery (very hard and tough when done :D )

* hardshell scenery is cardboard strips stapled up and down and then more of them interlaced in the other direction.

I have not tried this and maybe some of the more experienced can help me out. take styrofoam (like the green floral stuff) and use a dremel or sandpaper and make this stuff into fine powder then spray paint( keep it moving untill the paint is fairly dry to keep it from clumping up) and use it as ground foam.
    that is just my 2 cents

3. Ralph

Ralph's for fun!