Hello with a question about ballast

johnny g

Dec 27, 2004
Hi Everybody,:wave:

Sorry to Cross post but I want to say hello as well as ask a question.
I've been reading this board for some time but just registered. Anyways
I think this is a great place. I'm new to this hobby and am really enjoying it. I've already made one of the first mistakes, much to big a layout!!!:eek:ops:

My questions is what would happen if you DID NOT glue the ballast
down. I've glued the track down and I don't think it will move. What is the reason to glue the ballast if not to help keep the track from moving?
What happens to the ballast if not glued--does it move out of place,get between the wheels?:confused:

Sorry if this seems like a dumb question, but I've yet to see it asked/answered.
And to answer the question why would I want to do this-- so I can save time and finally run some trains on my layout.
The layout is a dogbone, around and through the walls on three sides, with a small yard in the center. Overhead view would look like an E shape. I got a digital camera for xmas so I hope to be able to post some pics as soon as I figure out how to use the camera.:)
My goal is to have trains running by the time of the HUGE January train show at the Big E in Westfield Mass.:thumb:

Thanks All
johnny g

Matthyro

Will always be re-membered
Dec 28, 2000
Georgetown, Ontario,Canada
Welcome to posting at the Gauge Johnny
Well if you are standing next to your layout and an uncontrolable sneeze came along, where do you think your ballast may end up?

Pooh Bah
Mar 25, 2002
Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Visit site
You don't need ballast to run trains. You probably should run for a while before you put it down. (I usually run for 10 years.)
Most of us glue scenery items down to keep them in place. Any major bump on the benchwork will start things shifting. Also, they stay in place when you vacuum up the dust.
It's really important if your layout is portable.

dhutch

Nov 14, 2004
www.spurstow.com