Hello to you all

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by JLPicard1701E, Jan 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JLPicard1701E

JLPicard1701E New Member

Hi there,

for the time being allow me to introduce myself as JLPicard1701E (more personal details will follow in time).

Suffice it to say that I work in the Entertainment Business (I am an actor and a director), with a keen interest in kit bashing and building any kind of model that has to do with WWII (1:35 scale for Tanks and 1:72 scale for Aircraft), Star Trek and other Sci-Fi subjects in any scale and in any material (styrene, resin, vacuformed and Paper Models, whatever comes handy...), as well as Real Space kits, from the V-1 and V-2 to the Ares-Orion mission models.

Alas, since I don't have much time to actually build them, due to my engagements, I appear to become more and more a collector, rather than a builder.

Yet, the day will come that I will finally have a break and ask myself what to do with my spare time, and there it will be: my piles of jobs to do.

I not only build just models, but I also plot scenarios for them to place them in. Perhaps it is my professional deformation in visualizing everything in 3-D, but I simply cannot have a model just sitting barely on a shelf.

It has to come alive, to live and have purpose.

I like to call myself a "replica builder", rather than just a modeler.
    It takes me forever to finish a project, because I am a perfectionist and when I set myself to build something, it has to look and "feel" as the actual thing. I make no concessions to this. Unless it looks as it could take-off, fire its rounds or simply leave orbit, it won't be displayed.

I love to impress people with my productions. The more people stand around and tell me how they have seen the real thing and they cannot make out the difference, other than for its miniaturized size, the more I know I have hit the right button.