Hello from the middle of the US

Miked53

Feb 15, 2012
Hello, my name is Mike "aka" Miked53.

I have been amazed at what can be done in paper. My hobbies are vinyl albums and electronics. I work in IT and took a new job to reduce the number of hours I work.

After I get some of the things done around the house, I have an electronics project I have been wanting to work on and also would like to get involved in building paper models. I am a Sci Fi geek.

Before I start asking for models, links or looking for images, I would like to know about the basics: what tools are used and how to shape paper when building.

Any books or articles?

Z

Zathros

A fellow audiophile!! i was an Electronic Technician, I even had a T.V. repair shop for 10 or so years. You'd like my tube amps.

Get a cutting Matt, the nice ones can be found at a Michael's Craft Store, which will have a good straight edge, TONS of Exacto blades. A set of really nice paper cutting scissors. UHU Glue and ZIP dry work really well. Stay away from Elmers as it tends to penetrate the paper and make a mess of things. That will get you started. A good printer is a must. I use www.inkproducts.com for all of my Ink needs as they get their ink from the same O.E.M. manufacturers as Epson and other printer companies. I prefer pigment based inkjet printers as opposed to dye as the pigment is more permanent and dye dye is color affected by moisture and U.V rays. I have a couple of Epsons, an Epson 415, cheap but good, and an Epson Workforce 1100, for BIG stuff. Nice thing as these two printers use the same cartridges and if you order the ink refill station from Inkproducts.com, you get a double set of cartridges and you get 2 for 1 basically. The following place is a great start for Sci-Fi models, and you have landed in a next of SciFi aficionados (O.K., Geeks!). :)

http://paper-replika.com/

There are many more! :)

silveroxide

Aug 22, 2007
Fayetteville NC