Hello from California

lrm1960

May 24, 2011
Newbie here. Been building paper models since about August 2010, but I have been an avid plastic modeler since the age of ten (50 now). I've got countless plastic models that probably will never be built now that I have discovered paper modeling. Plastic was just getting too expensive! Its great not having to paint. I've built a number of paper models thus far, and will post pics of my builds as time goes on.

Lee

aligator2794

Jun 18, 2011
When you say pl;astic modeller do you mean you make things out of plastic, or use kits to make them?
Chris

lrm1960

May 24, 2011
Chris,

When I say I have been an avid plastic builder for years, it means mostly building from plastic kits but I have done my fair share of scratchbuilding from plastic, mostly to modify or upgrade an existing kit or make a master for casting from resin.

Like I said in my introductory post, I have slowly moved away from plastic because of the cost, paper modeling is an inexpensive hobby, and no painting.

Lee

Lotsip

Jun 21, 2011
Stockholm
Hi

Just read your page, didn't see any pics yet, i was wondering what models are you making now. I myself have made plastic kits all my life, (now 43) for me it's not just the price, it's more the fact that i can build a plastic kit in an afternoon there just to easy and no challenge. Paper modeling i'm lucky if i can design, make and write up one model a month.

Z

Zathros

Welcome to the forum. The world of paper modeling offers the opportunity to design your own model, cover subjects that have not been covered. You can also make your own interpretation of subjects, improving or making something completely new. Or, just build some of the 1000's of free ones out there! It's all good!

lrm1960

May 24, 2011
Lotsip: