Hello Everybody!

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by Ajax, Apr 22, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ajax

Ajax Member

Hi all!

It’s a great place you all have here, so I thought I’d join in on the fun! :D I’m a college graduate student living in the Detroit-Metro area and I’m a real novice at card modeling. How much of a novice? Well… I’ve managed to build precisely one card model so far. :oops: But building it was so much fun, I think I’m hooked. However, as you might expect, I’ve got LOTS of questions about card modeling so I hope I won’t try your patience too badly!

My real passion in modeling is ships, but that isn’t to say I don’t like airplanes as well, and airships, and submarines, and spacecraft… err, you get the picture. ;) What really caught my eye as I began to look more closely into card modeling was the simply fantastic selection of WWI warship models that are available. Recently, I purchased JSC’s kit for the HMS Lion (one of my favorite warships of all time), and started scouring the internet to find more information on card modeling tools and techniques - and google lead me here. I now recognize that I almost certainly don’t have the skills to properly build a model as complex as Lion (and I do tend to be a bit of a perfectionist :D ), so I’ve decided to put that project on hold for awhile and instead concentrate on improving my skills by working my way up through less difficult models. As I venture to plan out my card modeling education, any advice, suggestions, or kit recommendations would be most welcome!

2. Darwin

Darwin Member