Hello all

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by OldSalt, Jul 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. OldSalt

OldSalt Member

Time to stop lurking and introduce myself.

I am a 62-year old; retired from the USN as a Chief Warrant Officer and from Newport News Shipbuilding/Tenneco/Nothrop-Grumman Newport News as a material requirements type for nuclear aircraft carrier overhauls. First model was a Comet stick and paper Piper Cub when I was six years old (much help from dear old Dad on that!) I have been building something pretty much for the last 56 years although the type of model and the medium have changed many times over the years. I was last involved with paper models in the 80s when I did a Bismarck, United States, an aircraft carrier (Kennedy?) and several smaller warships all by either JSC or Wilhelmshaven, I believe. Then I drifted back to miniatures wargaming for many years - playing, painting and selling under the eBay name "old_troll". I still have a garage full of Warhammer fantasy figures and several thousand cards from collectible (hah!) card games. I heard the old call of paper modelling a couple months ago and dusted off an old USS Maine model by Hamburg. I quickly realized that my skills needed some dusting also, so looked for information on the current state of affairs in paper/card modelling. Which brought me here...

From the posts I have read over the past few weeks it appears that the community is as friendly and helpful as any of the hobby communities and the wealth of info and construction photos are great!

My current "active" projects are the Dutch yacht and HMS Chatham 1:96 kits by Shipyard, the ancient USS Maine model mentioned above and the incredible USS Arizona (2004 version) from Digital Navy. I have ordered a silly number of additional kits - probably enough so my kids will inherit them - but you can never have too many kits on hand!!