Happy Day from San Diego

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by Snyperkitty, Apr 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Snyperkitty

Snyperkitty New Member

OK, so since I've got the bug for papercraft in a serious way, I figure it's time to take the first step and admit I have a problem. I'm a total addict. My brother introduced me to papercraft last year (he's a newbie here too...."Crazy Potashman") and I've been enjoying the hobby immensely ever since. I have a crazy work life, so this hobby helps me unwind.

I've finished four models since August 2006: a couple robots, the space shuttle, and the Batman Tumbler (which I just finished last night). I'm debating my next project right now, either Howl's Moving Castle or another Chromehound (my first model was one of the three Chromehound robots).

I realized a while ago that I've actually had a "thing" for papercraft since I was a little boy. When I was about 10 years old (27 years ago..and Crazy Potashman was just an infant) I was fascinated with making three dimensional objects out of paper. My dad worked in construction and I wanted to make him a truck out of cardboard for his birthday. So I used oak tag, a ruler and a pencil, drew the crude little boxes and cut out the parts and used masking tape to connect everything together. Everything was great (to my ten year old eyes...so it's relative) until I decided to paint the thing. I used some of my father's black spray paint. Shortly after applying the paint, the adhesive on the tape dissolved, and the paper warped. The model collapsed before my eyes...It was a horrifying feeling...and too late to fix it as it was my father's birthday.

So, I think that is one of the reasons why I was so drawn to this hobby...to finish later in life something I dreamed of and quit as a kid. I'm happy I found this hobby "again."