Greetings!

After lurking here at The Gauge since last October, I've decided that it is high time I de-lurked and introduced myself. :wave:

My name is what it says just to the left (I've been online since 1985 (the old FidoNet days) and have never seen the need for a "handle." No disrespect intended to those that use them.) I'm a network administrator for the Canadian federal government, but I'm also about 5 1/2 years away from retirement.

Way back when I was about six or seven, my Dad gave me an O27 5x9 layout for Christmas. He had noticed that I was interested in trains over the previous couple of years, although we didn't see very many on Vancouver Island. I played with that layout for a few years, then dismantled it and played with it my own way for a few years more. During my teenage years (by which time we had moved to Ottawa, Ont.,) I got into HO and N scale modeling, but never progressed past laying some track and running some trains. In my early 20's, I moved out on my own into a small bachelor apartment. I joined OVAR and during the next couple of years I started on an HO-TRAK module and a little 4x6 switching layout (more on that later.) In 1980, I got married, and we moved into a larger apartment with two bedrooms. Fortunatly for me, my new wife was quite alright with me taking over the second bedroom for my model railroading activities (and that is one of the many reasons we're still happily together!) In 1983, we purchased a brand new house (it was not even a hole in the ground when we signed on the dotted line.) Along with the house came a basement with almost nothing in it. Naturally, I started planning what I wanted to do with that basement. Those plans included a 13' x16' workshop, a 20' x 20' family room (with sewing nook for my wife) a laundry room, and most importantly, a 15' x 19' train room.