Greetings From the Belmar Valley!

Belmarvalley

Greetings Gauge members! :wave:

I’ve been lurking for quite a while and decided to come out of the woodwork. I’ve always enjoyed reading through the various topics which has displayed the skill and depth of modeling knowledge here. I’ve also learned a lot from you guys.

I’m an N-scale modeler (or at least I try to be) and have been working on my layout for almost three years now (on and off). It’s called the “Belmar Valley”, which is a fictitious rustic location somewhere in the Appalachian range. It’s mainly served by N&W, but other roads have known to make an appearance. I’m not at all a stickler for prototypically (as you will see).

The layout itself is loosely based on the “Atlantic Long Haul” plan in the Atlas book. I extended it, widened out the curves, and reduced the amount of sidings & turnouts so longer trains can be run. I’ve taken some shots that I’d like to share. Now this layout is the first I’ve taken to the scenery stage, and (as with all layouts) is still a work in progress. So I have absolutely no delusions that any of what I have done could stand up to the more seasoned work that I’ve seen on this forum.

As I’ve already shared these on a couple of other forums I frequent over the past months, some of you may have already seen them – so I don’t mind at all if you give a yawn and move on. :sleeping:

This first shot is an overview of my layout (or most of it):
aet.sized.jpg

The following pictures are shots that I took around my layout and then added in (“Photoshopped”) new backdrops. One of the lessons I learned in building this layout is that I will pay more attention to the importance of backdrops.

Here’s a shot of the bridge over the Belmar gorge:
aem.sized.jpg

A couple shots of a GP20 at work:
adl.sized.jpg

aev.sized.jpg

A coal train on its way out of the valley:
adv.sized.jpg

UP GP20 heading over the Belmar Creek (UP this far east?? I warned you I was not a proto-stickler…):