Greetings from New York State

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by rockpaperscissor, Mar 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hi everyone,

I am a long time modeller, but like many of us that hail from the USA, I'm relatively new to card modelling. I've been a dedicated Military Miniaturist for the past 20 years, and tried a paper castle as a diversion a couple of years ago. I was immediately hooked, and modelling in card became a second hobby for me. I've completed 3 castles, and have moved on to armor to see what kind of challenges lie in wait for me there.
    My first armor kit was the old Maly Putilow-Garford armored car from 1980 which I picked up on eBay (link to a 3 photo slideshow provided below). I thought it would be a good kit to start with since it's fairly basic, but still offered the challenge of a revolving turret and sponsons. I went with an armored car because at the time the thought of assembling all those bogie wheels and tracks was just too much.
    Now I have a hankerin' to build a tank, and I'll soon be starting the Model Card Panzer II Ausf. C. Still no interior, but it does have tracks. Baby steps. I'll post photos of my progress.
    Here's the link to my Putilow armored car. The shots are disappointing as my camcorder is rather dated, but you'll get the general idea. I weathered the model with pastels which, from what I've seen and read, isn't normally done, but it seems to me a military vehicle ought to be dirty, not all bright and shiny like it just drove out of the, tank wash.
    Click Here
    Don Weeks

GEEDUBBYA Active Member

Howdy and welcome to the forum Don,

We are glad you found us. The model looks great and I would say there is nothing wrong with a "dated" camcorder.