Greetings from BC, Canada

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by Winky, Nov 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Winky

Winky New Member

Hi all,

I have been lurking in the forum for some time and have finally decided to get out of stealth mode. In my youth, I used to build plastic models but was not very fond of the expense and painting part of the hobby. I eventually took up origami (paper folding). I am an accomplished origami artist and have designed some pretty elaborate models. The diagrams for a few of my models are available out on the net. I also have the unusual hobby of making wargaming miniatures from paper using origami and paper modeling techniques. Unfortunately, due to time constraints, my “armies” usually consist of just one or two lonely recruits :(. It was during my experimentations with paper miniatures that I discover the hobby of “pure” paper/card modeling. Like most people I started off with the free offerings available on the net. I longed for some of the more elaborate commercial models, but had trouble finding local sources. Canada has some pretty steep brokerage and customs fees that make ordering internationally a lot more expensive. Luckily, I eventually found the Hobby Factory which offered great prices and is a Canadian source. Since I have a young family, I have to budget my purchases slowly; about once every year, I get to indulge myself on a modest spending spree. However, even though my collection is relatively small, I am like most of you in the sense that I have a surplus of unbuilt models due to time constraints. Eventually, I would love to design some complicated models myself.

When I was younger, I had the time but did not have the money. Now that I am middle aged, I have limited time and limited money. I am hoping that when I finally retire 10 or 20 years from now, I will finally have both the time and the money to enjoy the hobby :).
  2. thewoodengraver

thewoodengraver Active Member