Grades in G scale

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by Bill_in_PDX, Jan 12, 2003.

1. Bill_in_PDX

Bill_in_PDX New Member

Hello Everyone..

I'm quite new to this. I'm just now starting the planning for a G scale railroad in my backyard. This is my first try at this hobby, although it had caught my interest for years.'s my first question. I'm planning to run the line around my pond, which is 12'x7'. In order to do this, I will have to climb a grade of approx. 2' 4". Up on side...a 90 degree turn...then back down. My question is is what are the grade steep is too steep. I do have room on each side to make it gradual...with tressels.

Thanks ahead of time for all your help. I'm sure I will have lots more questions as I plan this.
  2. cidchase

cidchase Active Member

Hi Bill,
    If you stay 2' off the pond all around that only gives you about 22' of track to climb 2'4" for a 10% grade. :eek: :eek:
    I would try to limit the grade to 4-5%, so that means it's trestle time!!!! You can also excavate a 'cut' into the high side. Can you show pics?
    My suggestion would be to limit the rise to 1' for that distance. I saw a pretty cool layout in Memphis in which the track was all laid on top of a single course of decorative retaining wall concrete blocks, around the ponds and flower beds. It also included a long trestle over a low area. I love that big stuff, but not enough time and money!!!
    Best of luck!!! :D :D
  3. Gardenrrguy

Gardenrrguy Member

I must agree 10% is too steep. Try for 5% or less. Most of the decent engines out there will pull a respectible train up a 5% grade or steeper. The problem you will encounter is running things on the down-slope.
    I have had a 7% grade in my garden for some time. Problem was if something got loose it went runaway for quite a while.
    So if you have the advantage of getting the grade gradual from the start, do it.
  4. N Gauger

N Gauger 1:20.3 Train Addict