Got my bridge in, but need some input!

Jun 18, 2004
barboursville, wv
Hello everyone, i finally got a start on adding a bridge scene to my layout. I have it boxed in and everything supported once again. I decided on makeing the depth 6" from the bottom of the bridge, what do you all think, is it too deep? Also, i added a couple of pieces of 1" x 4" scraps to support the bridge temporarly until my Chooch bridge abutments arrive hopefully in a couple of days. Can someone recomend some ways of makeing this box look like a river bank? I have never done a bridge before, so all the help is really appreciated. Thanks!
steve:thumb:

Attachments

• BRIDGE PIC1.jpg
    BRIDGE PIC1.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 606
  • BRIDGE PIC2.jpg
    BRIDGE PIC2.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 541
  • BRIDGE PIC3.jpg
    BRIDGE PIC3.jpg
    61.4 KB · Views: 553

COMBAT

Oct 28, 2006
Phoenix
Well, start with some foam or what ever your comfortable using for mountains and instead of building up, build down. Is the river bed going to be dry or wet? Think of the shape you want to see. " V " Shaped, " U " shaped? Its up to you and what you'd like to see. I mean, you have to look at it. LOL :)

COMBAT

Oct 28, 2006
Phoenix
Like this....

W F FW
A O O A
L A A L
L M water M L

Build down was a figure of speach, sorry to confuse you. :)

Does that make sense?

It appears the forums messed up my diagram......
Try this....
bridge.bmp

LongIslandTom

Apr 8, 2006
Long Island, NY
Trainsteve,

I vaguely remember you mentioning that you would like to model the Montana Rail Link..

If that's the case, maybe some prototype photos of bridges on the MRL would help you decide what scenary you might want to go with for that bridge you have put in. The two photos below are bridges on the MRL's line through Mullan Pass... The first one is the Austin Creek trestle, and the second one is the Greenhorn Creek trestle. They are from the http://www.mullanpass.com MRL railfan/modeling page.

Hope this helps some!

Attachments