good starter set

Geoffery

Hi, I am new to model railroading. I have decided on the HO scale and am looking for a good starter kit. I am more interested in steam engines the diesel. I only plan to start with a small layout at first, and maybe expand it later as I go. I can see in the near future of only running 2 to 3 trains at the most. I have been looking at some of the Bachmann and Lifelike sets but I am not sure of the quality of any of them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
If you are in Canada, or near the border, you might consider picking up the latest (Christmas 2006) President's Choice set at Loblaws, Superstore, or Independent Grocer. Currently on sale right now for CAN$50.

This set features a 2-10-2, 4 ore cars, and a caboose. It has an oval of nickle silver sectional track, and a small power pack. It will certainly get you started.

Your other option is to forgo the set all together, and go down to your local hobby/train shop. There are lots of different choices to get you started. Talking with them, and/or picking up a book or two about "getting started" may help you decide/focus on what you want to do.

Welcome to The Gauge!

Andrew

CRed

As mentioned the Presidents Choice is your best bet for a starter set and even if you are not in Canada You'll find them on ebay,,,,

PRESIDENT'S CHOICE BIG 10 EXPRESS HO SCALE TRAIN SET - (eBay item 320183053749 end time Nov-22-07 03:04:01 PST)

Good quality at a decent price.You'll need to get track and a power pack for it I believe,but it's worth it.

Otherwise I'd do as Andrew mentioned and go to your LHS or whatever and get seperate pieces.I'd skip LL and Bachmann starter sets altogether as the quality of them is dubious.You can find Bachmann Plus/Spectrum and Rivarossi Steam Engines for decent prices on ebay also and if you're planning on doing this for a while you might as well get decent stuff from the start.

Chris

nkp174

Geoffery,