Getting Started

Jasong

May 14, 2007
West Virginia
Ok. Noob question. Getting started with this hobby I had a train set as kid and I was telling my wife about she bought a Bachmann DCC HO train set. My dream is to make a layout. Her thoughts were without my knowledge were to buy the set as start. After reading the forums seems buying that set may have been a bad idea on her part. So My question is: Starting a layout better off buying track and a loco or Buying Track that matches the set and two locos I already have? The set came with a E-Z Command Control Center with 10 spaces to program 10 seprate locos with. I am totally new to this having only owned a DC set as a kid 18 years ago. So any advice without laughter would be appericated. Thank You for reading and responses so hopefully I can start a layout in the near future.

Noob in WV
Jason

jeffrey-wimberl

Oct 25, 2006
Sundown, Louisiana, USA
You can program 9 of the address buttons. The tenth one is to run a DC loco if you wish to do so. I use the Bachmann EZ Command myself and am quite happy with it. I usually take the decoders out of the cheap Bachmann engines and put them into my more expensive engines. BTW, all my track is Bachmann nickel silver EZ track.

Jasong

May 14, 2007
West Virginia
So you are saying I can add locos to the Ez command with no problem no other parts needed except a loco I just stick it on the track program and go? That is the track that came with the set so i can add to that no problem well the track problem is solved with your post I thank you for responding to my questions. Say I buy another loco it has to be bachmann? or do your suggestion and switch the decoders and I am ready roll with the starting set she bought?

Jim Krause

Apr 7, 2005
Polson, MT