Getting Started

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by mbb741, Dec 23, 2006.

1. mbb741

mbb741 New Member

I am new to model trains. I am going to start with the O-gauge trains. My budget is btwn 300-600 dollars and space is not a problem. I also have a little bit of research and looked around online at prices. I have a massive basement to work with. I was thinking about getting a starter kit Lionel and if there are any suggestions of which one to get Im all ears or if theres another company, I am open to that as well. My other idea is just start from scratch, buy some track, an engine and a car, transformer and just wing it. Any ideas>????
  2. Dave Farquhar

Dave Farquhar Member

Welcome! A starter set is a good way to get started quickly because usually the cost of everything included in the box is much lower than the retail price of the individual parts. Keep in mind you can easily spend $50-$100 on lumber to build your tables (I think my two 4x8s cost me about $50 each to build) and buildings will cost you $20 and up each, so even if you start with a $160 starter set like the Pennsylvania Flyer, you can end up in the $600 neighborhood if you build elaborate scenery for it. Nothing wrong with that, of course. You can start small and build on as time and budget permit.

So I'd definitely suggest getting a starter set and some other stuff to build a small world around it, and keep plenty of extra money to get the other things you need as you discover them.
  3. mbb741

mbb741 New Member

Thanks for the tip
  4. spankybird

spankybird OTTS Founder

Not only does Lionel have good starter sets, but so does MTH. Many of the MTH sets comes with PS2 engines, so they are command ready. This way when you expand your layout and add a command system like DCS, the engine already has the commad in it.

The other thing about the MTH sets is there transformer (most of them are now the Z1000) is a 100 watt pure sin wave transfomer.