Garden O

Discussion in 'G / O / S Scale Model Trains' started by catbert, Sep 20, 2008.

1. catbert

catbert New Member

Has anyone here done a garden O layout? I've been thinking (and talking) about it for years, and I'm about to jump. Any experiences here?:twisted: I've been kicking this around for a couple years, and now I'm relocating to a climate that won't melt my project. I'm using Gargrave, and I'm thinking I'd better start small so I'm only a little over my head.:confused:
  2. Geno

Geno Member

I suppose the stainless Gargraves track would work, provided you used a wood preservative on the ties or if GG has s/s track with plastic ties. You would aslo have to mount the track on a stable base, like stone, trex or a roadbed of crushed rock, and make sure you had good drainage. I 've considered doing the same myself, but using Atlas code 148 2-rail (it has UV-treated plastic ties).

David Hikel uses O gauge Gargraves on his outdoor layout- a very nice O gauge outdoor setup. David Vergun over at the OGR Forum uses handlaid track on wooden ties for his outdoor O gauge layout and seems to have had good success.

3. catbert

catbert New Member

That's exactly what the Gargrave folks told me. Thanks for the great link - nice layout!
  4. i have been planning on doing this same thing. im already big into o gauge, and did not want to get into a 3rd scale like G, (im into N scale as well as O now) i already have lots of o scale engines and rolling stock. all i would need to do is by some outside track, and maybe a bigger better transformer then what i have now.
  5. pgandw

pgandw Active Member

Outdoor railroading in the smaller scales (smaller than G), while feasible, has seldom been found to be worth the effort in the long run.