Fortezza Shuttle Tricks and Traps

Discussion in 'Space & Aeronautics' started by rlwhitt, Nov 10, 2006.

1. rlwhitt

rlwhitt Active Member

Hi space modelers!

For the past few weeks I've been building the MarsCenter Shuttle Endeavour by Raimondo Fortezza. It's been interesting and enjoyable for the most part, but there are issues that come up here and there, and the instructions, while pretty good, come up short in a few spots. Along with a few fit issues here and there, it can be a challenge to get this thing together correctly. I'm by no means an expert card modeler, but I hope my experiences with this model might help someone down the road.

It is certainly NOT a beginners model. It is quite detailed, moreso than most free models you'll find. But it is a rewarding and fun build if you are a detail oriented person.

Below I've listed some thoughts and findings as I remember them. I should have been writing this stuff down as I went, but alas I'm not one of those souls who have the knack for documenting a project as I go. Too impatient I guess.

I'm not finished yet with mine, and I'll add to this list as I get more information. I hope others who have built and will build this model will chime in here and add their tricks and traps, and maybe point out any of mine that are not valid merely because I'm unskilled or an idiot. ;)

Parts 1-5 don’t seem to have any purpose - none that are ever spelled out in the directions, at any rate.

Parts 1-6 have window colors on them, but they are in fact hidden beneath the like-patterned sections just to provide glue tabs. Don’t know why they bothered to color them.

Even though it looks like they are cutting thruster nozzle and star sensor holes into the skin AFTER the nose section is built, you obviously want to cut those before assembly!