Foam Board Question

TonyZ

A few questions for the pro’s

What type of glue should I use to bond 2” foam board to

plywood base? Also, can I use this same glue to bond cork

road bed to the foam board? On curves what holds the cork

road bed in position until its bonded? It looks like foam board

comes with a paper backing on one side, which side gets glued

down? IM new to using this :confused: method so any advice is helpful.

Thanks
Tony

Zman

A hardware store will be able to recommend the right glue for bonding the foam board to the plywood. It depends on the type of foam board you are using. Make sure you clamp or weight the foam to the wood while it dries.

I use the same glue to bond cork roadbed to foam, then I use plain old Elmer's to bond the track to the bed. Use push pins to hold the roadbed down while it dries - the kind you use on bulletin boards.

C

Catt

Liquid Nails for projects/foamboard can be used to glue the wood and foam together.Can also be used to gluedown the cork roadbed.

You can also use whiteglue (Elmer's etc.) for both projects.Just be sure to weight down the foamboard till the glue sets and use pushpins to hold the cork in place on curves (do this no matter what you use on the cork)

Will_annand

I agree with Catt, all my foam and cork and even tracks were glued together using LePage's White Glue (or Elmer's White Glue if you are in the USA). :D

If you check my website, I think there are a couple of pictures showing the bottles of gravel weighing down the top piece as well as the push pins holding the cork and track in position.

ezdays

Out AZ way
Tony,

I gotta agree with the others, Liquid Nails is great, or any white or yellow wood glue. Just be careful what you use since solvent-based glues will attack the foam and eat it rather than glue it...

Pooh Bah
I go for green contact cement (water based). It could take a lot, but it will glue everything from the plywood up to the ties. Just be careful putting everything together.