flying boat for beginners

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by Tommie, Mar 22, 2013.

1. Tommie

Tommie New Member

I'm looking for a paper model of a flying boat that is relatively easy for a beginner to assemble. I would prefer something with instructions and/or lots of pictures from different angle, so I can get an idea of how to build it. I've been building models for about 6 months off and on as school allows, and I have a friend who'd like a flying boat for a RPG we're playing.

2. I don't know of one, but I share your interest. I thought before that a paper model of one of those huge concept ocean-liner type planes seen in many '30s ads and magazines would be interesting. There's a resin model or two out there, but I've not seen anything in paper.
  3. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

Paper-replika has a Dornier that not too hard if you are patient. it's about a low medium difficulty, but easy assembly if you preform the curves.

1/75 scale Dornier Do-24K Aircraft

4. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

it's a seaplane, and not a flying boat, but this little Yokosuka K5Y “Willow“ from isnt too hard either.

Yokosuka K5Y

5. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

6. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

Here is a Kawanishi H8K Flying boat from

Kawanishi H8K

7. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

Here is a WWII PBY Catalina Flying Boat. Easy assembly

8. Dented Rick

Dented Rick Human

And a Short S.25 Sunderland Flying Boat, another easy assembly

9. Gixergs

Gixergs Well-Known Member