Fluesheet's first chalk weathering attempts

Discussion in 'Weathering Forum' started by Fluesheet, Jun 14, 2007.

1. Fluesheet

Fluesheet Member

In his sticky, ezdays makes a comment about the "many fine modelers" on the gauge. While I'd like to think of myself in those terms, when it comes to weathering, I'm still an apprentice.

I've seen some good discussion on using chalks or powders for weathering and thought I'd give it a try using some AIM powders I found at the LHS. My initial application attempts were using a facial sponge per the instructions. The Western Maryland car was initially done this way (second picture), but the color came out far too homogeneous. I was able to make it look a little better first by running some water run down the side (hoping that some powder would get picked up and deposited in the corners). That helped, but ultimately I had to wipe powder back off (towards the top). It needs more work, but I learned something from the exercise. The second side worked out a little better - I used less chalk of a different color. This is the first hopper picture, only the right side was done.

The refrigerator car was a little easier - I think because the surface wasn't as smooth. I also switched to a soft paint brush to apply the powder, making it a little easier to control where the powder went. One side I made filthy, the second side a little less so.

Let me know what you think / any advice / feedback. Now that I have these powders, I'll have to revisit all the fine discussion that interested me in this product in the first place!

Attached Files:

2. UP SD40-2

UP SD40-2 Senior Member

Fluesheet:wav: , i think you done a nice job on both cars:winki: . they are certainly not overdone:thumb: , the last pic of the covered hopper is my favorite:mrgreen: .