Flange sizes

nosixoften

Dec 14, 2005
I noticed someone mentioned a certain flange size on a thread a few days ago. How many different flange sizes are there and what difference does it make on a layout. As you probably guessed , I'm new at this. Gene

L

lester perry

Older cars & Locos may have larger flanges which will be a problem going through turnouts if you use smaller than code 100 track also flange may hit molded ties or plates.
Les

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
Generally, there are four sizes of flanges used and I won't be offended if I'm corrected :thumb: The deeper ones, affectionately refered to as "pizza cutters" in the hobby are .070" and are really only good for C100 rail. Rivarossi started knocking them down to .039" to make them more compatable with the growing popularity of C83 and C70 rails. I believe NMRA RP25s are .025", deeper than scale but much more realistic looking and generally found on most equipment today. PROTO 87 standards make it even finer, I think like .018".

N

nachoman

I am only aware of one flange size that is advertized - that is RP-25. this stands for NMRA reccomendation #25. This size was designed as a compromise between appearance and reliable operation. According to the NMRA, this is about the smallest flange an HO wheel can have before having performance issues. Anything not RP-25 probably has a larger flange than this standard.

If you plan on using code 100 rail, there will be no issues with any wheels ever made. I am told that code 83 will work with over 99% of equiptment ever made, with the exception of some european imports pre 1990. I have yet to run across anything that will not work on code 83 rail. If you are using code 70 or 55, RP-25 is a must. Most IHC and trainset quality lifelike or bachmann will not work on code 70 or smaller rail. I laid some code 70 and was disappointed when an IHC 4-4-0 would not work on it.