First try... First Layout

Strthoky

Feb 7, 2003
South East Michigan
hometown.aol.com
Wooooooooooooo HOoooooooooooooooooooooo!!!! I have finally marked progress on my layout... I am a newbie that has been lurking around and skimming info for a couple months.... hopefully I can post these images properly... let me know if I screw it up... and please please give me constructive criticism :)

grrrrr couldn't get em loaded right will try to post pics...

shamus

Registered Member
Dec 17, 2000
UK
Hi Strthoky, and welcome to the gauge. If you are still having trouble loading up photo via our BROWSER, let us know.

Shamus
waver.gif

Strthoky

Feb 7, 2003
South East Michigan
hometown.aol.com
Here is my first attempt at weathering my rolling stock.....
20.JPG

And afetr some inspiration from this site my attempts at scratch building some scenery The barn is not completed though
:D
12.JPG

Of course I have to show my patriotic support :) hehe
15.JPG

the portal is carved plaster... inspired from a thread on here....
and you can see the hand carved foam retaining wall and mountain side
portal.JPG

I goofed the paint job on the stones.... it was looking real nice until I put a acrylic matte top coat and then the wonderful multi color painted stones peeled their paint.. temp fix until later

msh

Jul 2, 2002
Charlotte, NC
www.moctezuma-us.com
I'm REALLY liking your work!! If this is your first attempt you're off to a GRAND start.

Question: How did you come up with the garden/field next to the barn? I've got to make one too and the rows look great.

Strthoky

Feb 7, 2003
South East Michigan
hometown.aol.com
I took a courogated (sp?) card board box and gently yook one of the outside (smooth layer) off to expose the "rows" I am thinking about putting some of those brass corn stalks I have seen in there..