First-Time Card Model Builder

Discussion in 'Zealot Archives' started by PakMan, Oct 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PakMan

PakMan New Member

Hello, everyone!

I have to admit to being completely new to card model building. In fact, I'd never even heard of it until I just happened to stumble across!

Quite frankly, I was completely amazed: I had absolutely no idea you could do such incredible things with nothing more than paper, cardstock, and a few odds and ends! I think I spent the next two or three nights doing nothing but poking through,, and a couple of other sites.

I have a lot of model-building experience from more years back than I'd like to admit: I built plastic models from when I was maybe seven or so all the way through college, then I decided to set aside my boyhood things (which in retrospect was a big mistake). And that was a long time ago (ahem).

But, after seeing the fantastic work you all have done, I decided I had to give card model building a go. My main, but not sole, interest is in WW-II armored vehicles, so I kind of jumped in with both feet: I downloaded the M5A1 Stuart kit from the Konradus site, and also ordered the Panther Ausf. G by GPM and the King Tiger (Henschel turret) by Modelik. I figured that by the time I finish hacking the Stuart and Panther to pieces the King Tiger might turn out reasonably well! LOL

I have to say that, even though I'm a treadhead at heart, I'm also looking forward to getting into some of the other kinds of models I used to build: military ships and aircraft. One particular thing I'd like to build someday would be a nice model of the WW-II Schnellboot (with armored bridge). But that's for later!

Anyway, I hope to post my progress on my first project, the M5A1 Stuart, in the armored vehicle forum. Until then, thank you all for the great information you've got on this site and getting me interested in model-building again!

- Mike
  2. Bowdenja

Bowdenja Active Member