First pic of my first layout

johnny b

Sep 13, 2005
Well it seems everyone likes to show what there working on so I'll be brave too. This is my first attempt , and likely last , at a nice scale layout. Space was a real problem so I had to abandon my large HO collection and go to N . Its all built on an old drafting table and will eventually be a SW pennsylvania scene. Its not after any location specific and I'm not following any road name rules . Just Pennsylvania RR engines kinda as if they still existed. It will eventually have a lot of tree cover , suggestions on how to do that are very welcome . Any other comments also welcome .

Thanks Johnny B

Attachments

• 2005 - 17.jpg
    2005 - 17.jpg
    59.4 KB · Views: 185
  • 2005 - 16.jpg
    2005 - 16.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 180
  • 2005 - 15.jpg
    2005 - 15.jpg
    44.1 KB · Views: 181

ezdays

Out AZ way
Feb 3, 2003
Arizona
bigbluetrains.com
Hey, that's cool. You got a lot of layout in that space, and I like the way you put the controls in the drawer.:thumb::thumb: Getting to the wiring should be easy as well, just lift the table top up, if you kept the original top that is. :D

Be sure to keep us updated with progress pics.:wave:

Will_annand

Jan 12, 2004
Huntsville, Ontario
www.muskokacomputes.com
Great looking layout Johnny, welcome to the world of N Scale, you can do alot more with N than HO.

As for trees, I will be going the cheap route. We have lots of weeds around the CN mainline here in town. Bunching them together and holding them with florist tape works out real nice. For fir trees, you can cut up those cheap green scouring pads you get at the dollar store, cut up in differing circular sizes and mounted on a wooden skewer, as from the dollar store... $2.00 worth gets you about 10-15 good sized trees. With plenty of skewers left for the next batch :D .

johnny b

Sep 13, 2005
Herc Driver said:
Very nice! How did you do those good looking concrete ro
ads?