First Loco Weathering/Detailing

SeriousSam

Nov 2, 2005
San Antonio
Howdy Errone. This is my first ever weathering/detailing of an N Scale locomotive. I will try to post more pictures, but I am not very good at this stuff, and the thing keeps telling me something about dimensions being too big or something. Anyways, This is an Atlas GP40. It used to be Union Pacific painted. As you can see, it is now Southern Pacific. I have added a snowplow, grab irons, lift rings, windshield wipers, cut levers and lots of rust/dirt coloring so that it can appear very weathered. Comments and suggestions are very welcome. I will try to post more pictures if this thing lets me. The locomotive is not as bright as it appears here...Flash sucks. But I would like to know what you guys/gals think and what else I can do to make it better. I lost the horn BTW :curse:

If you got weathered locomotives, please share :thumb:

Attachments

• GP40Sidesmall.JPG
    GP40Sidesmall.JPG
    64.3 KB · Views: 173
  • GP40Front.JPG
    GP40Front.JPG
    45 KB · Views: 176
  • GP40Right Side.JPG
    GP40Right Side.JPG
    49.9 KB · Views: 179

Cornreaper

Apr 26, 2006
Barrie, ON
Looks pretty good. The rust is perfect! The only other thing I would suggest is to 'grime-it-up' a little more with a wash of heavily diluted india ink.

Herc Driver

Apr 18, 2005
North Carolina
I like it! Consider adding fuel spill residue down the tank from the filler neck, maybe grime up the trucks a bit. But wow, if this is your first attempt...great result. Where did you get the added parts to make it more realistic and were they hard to install?

shaygetz

May 2, 2003
www.freewebs.com
SeriousSam said:
This is my first ever weathering/detailing of an N Scale locomotive. But I would like to know what you guys/gals think and what else I can do to make it better. I lost the horn BTW :curse:

If you got weathered locomotives, please share :thumb: