First Freight car

coachC

Feb 6, 2006
Alabama
I bought my first HO scale freight car this past weekend. It is a branchline blueprint kit, 50' Clinchfield Boxcar. I want to detail it but was told since this is my first attempt I should just use the parts that come with the kit. I was also told that i could use super glue to put it together. I hate super glue. What would be the best adhesive to use for this kit ?? When I finish and weather it, I will post some pictures of it.

puddlejumper

Dec 7, 2007
Southern Maryland
Hi Coach
Congratulations on your first freight car purchase! You will find quite a bit of enjoyment from building your own freight cars from kits. The Branchline Blueprint kits are fantastic and have great details. You could use this kit as a learning experience and build it with what comes in the box. However, if you are a patient person who truely enjoys being the most accurate and highly detailed there is no reason why you can't superdetail this kit with your own parts. The Walthers catalog or, even better, Detail Associates, Precision Scale, Cal-Scale, catalogs will give you plenty of options for superdetailing. For adhesives most people do use Cyanoacrylate (spelling) adhesive or CA which is your basic super glue. You can also use liquid plastic cement applied with a brush but only for plastic models.

Good luck and if you can post photos of before, during and after your done.

Dave

pgandw

Jul 9, 2005
The liquid plastic cement is preferred for plastic models. It "welds" the plastic together into one piece. For that reason, you don't want to any cement of visible surfaces, and use the stuff very sparingly. Don't use the common gel type plastic cement in a tube! It's impossible to avoid making a mess with it.