First attempt - need guidance

eddie

Oct 2, 2006
This is my first attempt at a model rr - 0 scale. Two questions-
1. It seems the easiest way to start is with plywood on legs - I have mth real tracks- any suggestions on placing the track - should I also use something beneath the tracks to quiet the noise?
2. If I use widths of say a maximum of 36" board- is this too wide if it's against a wall? What about access to trains in a tunnel when it's against a wall?

I'd appreciate any thoughts from you! Thanks

rfmicro

Sep 24, 2006
There are lots of things you can do. The first is to grab a piece of paper, a pencil and a tape measure. Measure your room dimensions and place them on that sheet of paper. Next decide how best to utilize the space you have that meets your layout design requirements. Will the layout be mounted on the wall in a shelf design, stand free-form on saw horses or 4' X 8' table(s) with existing legs ? Perhaps you might need to incorporate parts from all three to some degree.

The maximum reach of a person is about two feet, or so. So anything larger/wider needs access from both sides. IF you plan to have others run trains on your layout then you need to accommodate sufficient walk-a-round space (read real estate) so they canj move freely. Multi-level layout designs will take more thought as to how you will transition between levels.

Other decisions that you will need to make are the height of the layout as some folks prefer looking at the layout standing up and at eye level. Many select 48" as the compromise solution. Will this be a permanently fixed layout, mobile (castors) or some of each. The track layout will also be a major factor in your layout design. Do you have an idea on what kind of buildings, scenery, homes, or industry you will use and where.