Finished model Fiddler's Green GeeBee R-1

Discussion in 'Aircraft & Aviation' started by BARX2, Dec 23, 2006.

1. BARX2

BARX2 Member

I humbly submit my first model (that didn't end up in the trash). Despite the nameplate that says GeeBee "Z" it's really the R-1. The R-1 nameplate also wound up in the trash. :grin: I'll build the "Z" next. This was a surprisingly easy build for me, despite being a complete amateur. I'm new at every aspect of card modeling - cutting, forming, gluing, etc. - yet it went together very well. I was impressed at how well the parts fit together. I've built plastic models that didn't fit together as well as this paper model! OK, here are a couple of pictures. They don't do the color justice. I think the red got washed out by the flash.

Attached Files:

2. BARX2

BARX2 Member

The rigging is made of .015 inch music wire. It's very rigid and easy to work with.

Attached Files:

3. SCEtoAux

SCEtoAux Member

Looks good.
    Card modeling is kinda habit forming. I have so many printed models, uprinted models, partly constructed models, pre-printed model kits, etc., etc.... sitting around that it makes me wonder what I have gotten myself into :lol: . Each finished model gets all kinds of oohs and aahs, even with my not so neat contruction. "That's paper?!" is a frequent comment.:)
  4. BARX2

BARX2 Member

When I do the "Z" I'm not going to cut the little slits in the engine cowl. I found another way of curving the card stock without cutting it.
  5. BARX2

BARX2 Member

Thanks for the good words. Yes, it really is amazing that a paper model can come out looking so solid and 3-dimensional!
  6. cgutzmer

cgutzmer Guest

nice build barx! Thanks for sharing the pics with us :)
  7. ekuth

ekuth Active Member

Very nice, clean looking build, Barx! I gotta try this one myself.

I do alot of photos of my builds and models- I NEVER use the flash for exactly that reason. Try just using ambient lighting; your pictures will look much better!