Figure Modeling and Posing SW FREE!

Discussion in 'Science Fiction & Fantasy' started by MTK, Sep 21, 2011.

1. MTK

MTK Active Member

Greetings and felicitations fellow modelers. I want to present a free modeling program that can be used to create your own Sci-Fi figures and, or to pose your existing figures. For example, say you have a Star Wars figure you want to make into a card model, but all you have is the T shaped figure with the arms outstreatched. Well, that's no good, is it?
    You want a cool action pose. You want to pose your model in a dynamic way, you want your model to look like it's fighting, or swinging a lightsaber, or shooting a blaster in an action pose.... Right? Well, this is the tool to not only do that, but to create your own figures in cg, from scratch.

Here's a link to the free program that can help you do all of this. FREE!

I started playing with Daz 1.0, or something like that a few years ago and was able to make several models with it. Naturally, being a red blooded America male, all of my models were of women.

I used an earlier version of this program to create a Seven of Nine character model, then imported that character into lightwave to be modified for other purposes.

See photos below.

Here's a link to the Basic Features Video..... There are a myriad of other videos dealing with many other subjects to help guide you through working with the program.

Also note that there are a lot of free plug ins and add-ons available and that from this same site you can link to a free copy of Bryce, which is a great tool for creating backgrounds.

Let your mind go wild, use this program to express yourself and create your own characters, pose those characters and introduce yourself to 3d, CG and animation.

Attached Files:

2. MTK

MTK Active Member

Has anyone thought of trying this? I'm going to be playing around in Daz and working on rigging some of the figure models... If anyone need a link to the rigging software let me know.