Essentials

What are a few of the items or tools you would be lost without when it comes to MRR? Think in terms of stuff you always have on hand, or if its tools people normally would have in their house, do you own extras that are specifcally for this? Please share! :)

AND since I am fairly new to this if its not a common knowledge type pf thing, a pic or link would help!

Thanks

I look forward to reading the responses:D

Tiny screwdrivers, small pliers and nippers, long thin needlenose, a dremel, and old, clumsy fingers need a magnetic screwdriver.
These would be necessities for me.

Lynn

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
  • Sprue cutters (the "tweezer" type, not plier type)
  • Xacto knives with variety of blades (workhorse is a #11)
  • cross lock tweezers (the kind that stay shut on their own)
  • Contact cement (I use Walthers "Goo")
  • Crazy glue (instant Jet)
  • Cork with a needle stuck in it (for applying glue, oil, poking stuff... ;))
  • Single edge razor blades (box of 100)
  • Micro clamps (clothes pins are good too)
  • Self healing cutting mat (from my wife's "retired" selection - she's a quilter)
  • Tweezers in several sizes
  • 6" steel ruler
  • HO scale ruler
  • NMRA Gauge for HO
  • Jeweller's screwdrivers
  • MIscellaneous paintbrushes (cheap-o dollar store kind for weathering, glue - cheap so it doesn't matter if I forget to wash them)
  • Plastic paint as a "pallet"
  • Plastic cup for water
  • Paper towel
  • Magnifier light ($20 at harware store)
  • Set of micro files and fine (400+ grit) sandpaper
  • Set of railroad colour paint from Poly S
  • Set of "weathering colours" paint from the dollar store
  • Screw picker (a little device that has a claw at one end activated by pushing the other - for grabbing tiny parts)

Most of this stuff is in one of those little "roundy-round" office supply carousels that sits on my desk (not the light and the paper towel, of course ;)).