ermm help please?

Discussion in 'Gallery & Designs' started by imavingalaughaswell, Jun 17, 2008.

1. Okies i'm busy with trying to build paper models from "meshes" from the net..

Here is what i'm doing,and i need help...

First i download a model in google sketchup,then save it as a .3ds.

Next i can open the model files in 3ds max,and it give me the model mesh,and a view of completed model,

Then i select and save all the seperate meshes within the model to seperate .3ds files...

Now the next bit is where i get stuck.....

I open the mesh with Pepakura Designer ready for unfolding.on the 3d view most of the mesh edges show in blue, but some show in Red? i'm guessing the Red ones are the ones that are causing the issues with unfolding...

i have tried editing the meshes in Meta but it seems to take a long time just to edit a small mesh .....

any suggestions for a quick fix?...

i'm new to all the software ,only had it all a few days ...

help please...
  2. kneedeep

kneedeep New Member

i believe the red lines in pepakura indicate cut lines.
  3. voltron5

voltron5 Member

As far as I know the red lines mean that that line does not have intersecting points, or it over laps the adjacent face. I have found the best way to fix that is to explode the model, then intersect all components with the entire model, then delete all the extra faces. Another way I do it is to just delete the problem face, then delete the connecting lines and redraw them. Most of the time you get red lines in pep is because something in the model is not square. Hope this helps:thumb:
  4. Nothing

Nothing Longtime Member

there is no "quick fix" when cleaning up a mesh. its a sometimes long and frustrating process. the red lines are edges that arent attached to anything.not good if its in the middle of a polygon. sometimes this happens if the verticies arent joined properly.
  5. Nothing

Nothing Longtime Member

a great place to start is to read through this tutorial