Enviro Tex on Glass?

Steam Donkey

Hi Everyone!

I'm new to this post, but not real new to model railroading in general (although I haven't had an actual model railroad for about 15 years...yikes!!!).

Sometime in the future I will be creating a waterfront area on my proposed HO scale logging railroad. The area will be complete with wharf , lumber schooner and other typical waterfront details.

I would like to create underwater details also, such as a sunken rowboat and perhaps a boxcar that didn't know when to stop at the end of the pier. :D In order to do that, I'll need to work with exceptional water depth, far more than is reasonable with Envirotex alone.

Has anybody used a sheet of glass or other transparent materials as a subsurface on which to pour Envirotex? Would you tint the Envirotex and paint the "ocean floor" to create additional depth just as you would a river?

How would you get around the problem of disguising the joint of the wharf piles above and below the "water". If you used something other than glass, say Lexan, would you drill thru the "water" and have a continuous pile from the wharf into the seabed? What about a boat hull above and below the water?

Hope you folks can help me, I'm stumped! :)

Thanks !

Stan

shamus

Registered Member
Hi Stan, and welcome to the gauge.
Glad to see another logging nut like myself.
It can be done using a plexiglass top which is sprayed with dullcoat after you have finished the base with what ever you wish to put into it. I would suggest that you use High gloss yacht varnish for the initial work where the Boxcar etc is going to be. Then you will have to make a sort of surround which will hold the Plexiglass.

You asked
"How would you get around the problem of disguising the joint of the wharf piles above and below the "water". "