Elevating track

Rath150

HI,
Absolute newbie Just getting started in railroading at the young age of 70. I must be crazy!

I recently purchased a layout but want to revise it with elevating a portions of the track.
In my first effort, the problem arose. When the train reached its peak the cars had a tendency to disconnect.
How can I make the trnsitions from the grade (up) and the down grade? I can't seem to get a smooth transition from up to flat to down.
I plan to have the heightest point 3-4". I have enough distance to accomodate the grade requirements.
The longest portion of the layout is sort of a "U". One end is 4x6' - mid is 4x8' other end is
4x8'.
The track takes up most of each portion.
How many power connecitons should I have to assure good power to the entire track?

That is enough for now.

I'll have many more as I progress!

Thanks

Rath150:wave:

Nomad

Rath, welcome to model railroading!.:D To answer your questions,we need more info. How are you elevating your tracks? And, what are you using for a power supply? Dc or dcc? And, what gauge of track are you using? On your grade, does it go up and down like a roller coaster?. If so, you need a straight of flat track on top.
Loren

Rath150

elevated track

Thank you for your responses.
First, I have HO.
I am presently using pillars for elevation.
Yes to the up and down with the use of flat track at the top.
I guess I have DC? Regardless, i have no problem with my engines with a full compliment of cars making the hall.
The disconnects occur where the elevation meets the flat track. Not all the time but too frequently. When th engine or cars levels of on the flat track the back lifts resulting in the disconnect of the following car.

Thanks

Rath150

Ralph

Remember...it's for fun!
Hi Rath and welcome!