electrical blocks question

pooka2hot4u

My First Layout

untitled.jpg

hey guys, im kinda new at all this and have some questions about electrical blocks on my layout.

above is the track plan for a 3x5 layout im planning on making, which i got from this site: http://users.iafrica.com/c/ca/caroper/tutorial/
its basically a tutorial on how to plan a N scale layout and mine is the second stage of it. heres a link to my exact one: http://users.iafrica.com/c/ca/caroper/tutorial/operations.htm
its the third image down.
now i can see that in that layout its been split into several blocks, but thats because at that point it was meant to run 2 different trains.
i plan on only running one train for now. so i need to know wether i will need to seperate the track into any blocks or can i just plug the whole thing straight to the power pack? will those dead ends cause any short circuits or anything?
id like it if you guys could tell me where i have to put insulated rail joiners and how i should wire the thing.

PS: eventually it will get expanded a little to run 2 trains and thus be blocked up.
once i get to 3 trains then im going to rewire this thing for DCC. but for now this is my first layout so i just wanted something simple, thats why i just copied one off the net.

ezdays

Out AZ way
Theoretically you should be able to wire the whole layout as one and forget about blocks if all you're going to run is one train. But, in practicallity, you may want to at least block off the sidings. They won't cause any shorts, but you might want to back a train into one of those sindings and leave it while you're running another train. If so, you'll need to at least be able to turn off power to those tracks. It also doens't hurt to block things now, even if you don't plan on running more than one train for a while. It'll just save you the trouble of tearing up track just to get some additional wiring and insulators in place.

Just my take on things....

Nomad