Dumb questions from a total newbie

Discussion in 'N / Z Scale Model Trains' started by marshachancock, Feb 15, 2007.

1. marshachancock

marshachancock New Member

Ok I spent years with my dad as an HO enthusiast. Now I"m director of elementary ministries and I want to create a layout in an alcove entering our children's area. I'm thinking N scale is the way to go. I have 32" by 67". I have seen some Bachman starter sets that are within my budgets. I don't want to "underbuy" however, I'd like a little excitement such as a figure 8 or hill, etc. Any advice would be appreciated.

2. engineshop

engineshop Member

If you spend a lot of time building the layout and hope to run it for years, you need to purchase good quality tracks. Bachmann tracks will give you headaches for the rest of the layout life and I would suggest Kato Unitrack. An easy figure 8 will not blow your budget. On the other hand, you can start with a cheap engine since you have the possibility to upgrade to Atlas or Kato.
    Tracks are more or less permanent and you would damage your layout to upgrade them.
    I would suggest to invest most of the money right now in the layout, save some bucks on the first engine and cars and you will be a much happier railroader in the future.
  3. Squidbait

Squidbait Recovering ALCO-holic

It really depends on your budget. If you get the Bachmann track DO NOT get the black roadbed stuff. It has steel rails, and oxidizes very quickly, meaning you're constantly cleaning it. The grey roadbed stuff has nickle-silver rail, and is much better.

Kato Unitrack is nice, but it's expensive. It wouldn't be too difficult to build something like this: [​IMG]

10 pieces of Atlas flex track, 3 turnouts, 11 pieces of midwest cork, some 1x3s and some plywood, you're off to the races. Or you could build it on a single piece of plywood, and use Woodland scenics foam risers and roadbed, but that's more expensive.