Don't laugh too hard...It's my first attempt!

Nazgul

Jan 22, 2006
Ohio
Trackplansmall.jpg

Ok guys, the drawing is pathetic, what can I say? By the time I master Track planning software my 2 boys will be out of college! Anyway, I moved from a thread in HO that I started: http://www.zealot.com/forum/showthread.php?t=109444
which resulted (with everone's help) in this bench plan for my basement. The black is the outline of the bench. My sorry drawing is pretty much to scale. the 2 large penninsulas are 4'-0 wide and 5'-0 deep. The small one on the right is 18" wide and 6'-0 or so long. the aisles are 30" wide. This is the way the bench must stay. the only change possible is the width of the aisles. I guess there's room to narrow them. I've been advised that given the size I have to work with, a logging theme might solve tight radius problems and allow for elevation changes in a relatively short run. This is my feeble attempt to get some ideas on paper to show people what I have to work with. As stated in my previous thread, I have two boys and continuous running is a must, but DAD needs some switching to keep my interest. If anyone can show me what can be done with this, I would be grateful. I can't see me doing anything with soft ware. Thanks.

Hi Steve, The thing about the layout software is that you get dimensionally accurate
drawings, with correct turnout geometry, etc. Without it, or some templates for
turnouts and turntables, you're sort of shooting in the dark. I would get a few turnouts
and track sections (the sectional track has fixed radius) and set up sections of the
layout on a table. It might make you adjust your plan and/or shift the benchwork
around slightly. Do you want to try flex-track? The turntable (if it includes a roundhouse)
is a real-estate hog :D :D You can certainly fif it in, just need some real dimensional data.:thumb:
Your plan includes a reverse loop which requires a little special wiring. (no