does anyone ever meet up?

ding chavez

Jan 17, 2006
Philadelphia, Pa
the internet is a very useful tool for all hobbies, including model railroading. when i actually can start making one of my own, would anyone (if there is anyone) in my area be willing to hang out sometimes and give me a little help? ya know, with ideas, painting stuff, most efficent ways to make stuff, things like that? im an artist but i dont know how to do a good bit of what i see on your layouts and id be thrilled if i could ever make mine look like alot of yours do. and obviously id be indebted to someone who did and they could call on me for advice/help whenever they needed it. on second thought i guess i could join a club around here, is that what you guys do? i just like the hobby alot and would like to find other people near me who do also. "train buddies" if you will.

reading books on how to do things are kinda boring ya know? its more fun and much easier to learn and understand to have someone show you in person.

MasonJar

It's not rocket surgery
Oct 31, 2002
Ottawa, Canada
Visit site
Ding,

I would guess that a good number of us do belong to "brick and mortar" clubs, so to speak, but there are still those that like the lone wolf approach.

If you are looking for a club in your area, the NMRA (www.nmra.org) has a club listing (I believe it is international in scope). You should be able to start there. I found the clubs in my area just by asking at the local train shop.

Andrew

brakie

Nov 8, 2001
Bucyrus,Ohio
Visit site
Ding,I learned 90% of the hobby through trial and error experience which I found to be the best teacher after its all said and done..Why you may wonder is because you learn FIRST hand what will and will not work.

N

nachoman

i'd love to hang out and share a few beers, but pennyslvania is not a place I make it too often. :)

kevin

TomPM

Another Fried Egg Fan
Oct 15, 2002
Drexel Hill, PA
www.trainweb.org
Ding