digital cameras

Discussion in 'Photos & Videos' started by jimnrose, Nov 5, 2001.

1. jimnrose

jimnrose Member

Shamus & Co.,
    I'm on the fence about goind digital especially when I don't take any film pictures. I was looking at the Olympus C-700 that Shamus had purchased and was very pleased with the results.
    I'm sure this is the camera for this hobby but my questions are related to the accessories. Other than a memory card and rechargeable batteries with charger what other "goodies" are required? Like:
    additional lenses?
    software to alter the images?
    photo grade printer; or can the data be sent to get hard copies without investing in printers and phot grade paper?
    Thanks again, Jim
  2. Dave Flinn

Dave Flinn Member

Digital Camerqs

After reading Shamus' reports, I, too, looked into a C-700. After consulting with my local photo dealer and checking specs, I decided to go with the Fuji Finepix 6900. I'm still learning how to play with all it's features; and I haven't found any digital yet that's really good for action shots (although part of that problem is just learning when to press the shutter). So far, I've gotten some nice pix (nothing of model rr's to post here, though) and others not so nice. As I said, I'm still learning.
  3. shamus

shamus Registered Member

Hi Jim & Dave,
    I tried the Fuji Finepix along with the C-700 and was more impressed with the Olympus, it can do sports mode also.
    1 - As far as lens go, you cannot interchange with the Olympus
    2 - Software to alter the image, I use Paintshop pro 7, but with the C-700 comes software just as good.
    3 - Photo printers, my printer is an Epson 680 with a DPI of 2880 for top quality results.
    4 - Sending your photo's via email can also be done to various photo printers at a cost of 60p per print (UK). They then post them back to you.
    I have had my Olympus now for around 2 months and have been very pleased with all results.
    Shamus

[​IMG]

Attached Files: